Ontario Hockey League


In 1890 by the newly created Ontario Hockey Association or OHA first organized a professional league for ice hockey in Ontario. The association recognized professional junior hockey in 1892 which referred not to the age but rather to the skills of the player. The OHA has evolved and developed four eras of junior aged non-professional hockey in Ontario. The Major Junior A Group parted ways from OHA in 1974 and became Ontario Major Junior Hockey League. They later changed their name in 1980 and was named Ontario Hockey League.

The Ontario Hockey League is a hockey league that is based in Ontario, a Canadian province next to Michigan and near where Toronto is. There is only one American team in the league.

The league has seventeen (17) minor league hockey teams. After hockey was invented in 1952, and after the NHL was created soon after, the sport took off in popularity. This became more popular in 1957 after the CBC began TV broadcasting. More people wanted to play the sport than there were roster spots in the NHL.

Therefore, a minor league was created, and was called the Ontario Hockey League. Other than the NHL it is the only hockey league which exists.  Despite this, the New York Times can’t even fit to print the standings of the league in its sports section.

Teams in the Ontario Hockey

◾Saginaw Spirit

◾Owen Sound

◾Belleville Bulls

◾Brampton Battalion

◾Kingston Frontenacs

◾Kitchener Rangers

◾London Knights

◾Mississauga IceDogs

◾Oshawa Generals

◾Ottawa 67s

◾Petersborough Petes

◾Plymouth Whalers

◾Sarnia Sting

◾Sault Sainte Marie Greyhounds

◾Sudbury Wolves

◾Toronto Saint Michael’s Majors

◾Windsor Spitfires